The Royal College Shakespeare Cast Stir Up A “Tempest,” To Bring Back The Shakespeare Challenge Trophy

The Royal College Shakespeare Cast of 2013 took to stage an innovative approach to William Shakespeare’s final individual piece; The Tempest, set in a train station. The traditional version being set on a deserted island, was twisted by the excellent vision of Director Mr. Thushara Hettihamu. The excerpt was set in an abandoned railway station, with the protagonist, Prospero played as the commanding Station Master, Ariel; a workman-spirit played as a four person split and Caliban played as a homeless man. Miranda & Ferdinand were played as the young lovers, set in a more modern look. The ensemble cast had an outstanding performance as trains, that were used for scene changes proving that Royal has what it takes to deliver an outstanding production be it traditional or contemporary.

Click on the link to view the complete album – Shakespeare 2013 – The Tempest – Semi Finals

The cast were commended for being able to pull off an impressive overall performance as a team, without having just one or two individual star performers. The Semi – Finals took place on the 11th of September at the Lionel Wendt Art Center, and the cast made it to the Finals for the second consecutive year together with Defending Champions D.S. Senanayake College, outstation veterans Maris Stella College and new comers to the Finals Ananda College.

The play consisted of a gripping balance of high-energy playing through the Ariels, precise co-ordination from the ensemble, a delicate exchange of emotion from Miranda & Ferdinand, a touching portrayal of Caliban through his rage & plight and balancing it all was the varying character of Prospero; showing command, care and control.

Highlights and Celebrations

The win is a great achievement following up to the last win back in 2008 (King Lear) and finishing runners-up last year (Romeo & Juliet) as the Shakespeare arena has evolved immensely and fulfilling all that is expected is no easy task.

Special Achievements

Aneeq Hashim won the award for Best Actor for his portrayal of Prospero.
The Cast Leader, Rashmin Tirimanne De Silva is the first Royalist to be a member of two winning cast. (2008,2013)

Cast of 2013

Aneeq Hashim – Prospero
Rashmin Tirimanne De Silva – Ariel
Imaadh Dole – Ariel
Viren Ratwatte – Ariel
Vindula Jayalath – Ariel
Suran Weerasekera – Caliban
Anuka Aluwihare – Ferdinand
Nikila Weerakone – Miranda

Chanaka Tennekoon, Sahan Warnasooriya, Rajinda Gunasekera, Senith Abeyanayake, Narada Lokuhetty, Chanaka Perera, Ifram Ismath, Daksith Jayasinghe, Ishfaaq Nazeer, Hasanga Liyanagunawardane, Randika Abeysooriya, Dinuka De Zoysa, Naveed Hashim, Mindula Sooriyabandara, Dylan Wijesuriya, Lakvin de Silva, Samaridu Vitharana, Shechem Sumanthiran, Ayendra Subasinghe, Manasir Jisam, Asel Karunasinghe, Priyesh Perera