The game “first awoke” at Royal with the donation of Baseball equipment in late 1984 and with the first Baseball team being selected in 1985. It is also important to note that Royal College celebrates its 27th anniversary in the same year as the governing body for Baseball in country, Sri Lanka Amateur Baseball Association.

The Royal Team which was captained by K.M.C Fernando became the runners-up at the first national baseball championship. Then the tournament was categorized as “Men’s Open” and there was no age limit for the players. K.A.J.P.Kahandawala, who was a brilliant baseball player and performed as the main pitcher of the team, won the mercantile credit challenge cup for the best all rounder in the first national tournament. In 1991 Royal College won the National baseball tournament for the first time in its history by beating Joseph Vaz College Wennappuwa. It was the first time that Joseph Vaz College, was beaten at a final of the under 21 national tournament which they had won since 1985. Presently, Royal College Baseball continues to keep up the success it had. The team has emerged All Island Champions in 2010 and Finished as runners-up in 2012. The sport continues to grow and shows positive signs for the future.

Captain         – Kaveesha Abeysinghe
Vice Captain – Sahan Jayamuthu