Hockey which has gained immense popularity in school was first introduced in 1955. The first captain of Royal College hockey was Lionel Almeida who paved the way for Hockey to become what it was today by setting the example that is followed by hockey captains even today.

The first Royal Thomian hockey encounter for the Orville Abeynaike Memorial Trophy was initiated in 1999. Royal College emerged victorious for the first time in this encounter in 2007.

The present coach of Royal College Hockey is Mr. Rohan Dissanayake who has acted in this capacity for nearly twenty five years. He is also the present coach of the Sri Lanka Girls Hockey team.

Captain         – Pasindu Charuka
Vice Captain – Manjitha De Silva