Waterpolo was first introduced to Royal college in 1958. Senan Nagarathnam was the first waterpolo captain. But the first Royal – Thomian Encounter for the Dr. R.L Hayman trophy was played in 1992 and the Royal team was lead for the first Hayman by Nethru Nanayakkara. Sachithra Thilakarathne was the captain who lead the College team for victory by winning the the Hayman trophy for the first time in 2005 by 13 goals to 9. From 2005 the College team won the Royal Thomian encounter for 6 consecutive years.

Captain         – Basith Yakoob
Vice Captain – Senith Samaranayake