And so it begins! – Royal wins the Inaugural Royal – Thomian Squash Encounter!

The Inaugural Royal – Thomian Squash encounter was held on the 31st of January 2014 at the S. S. C. Indoor Squash Courts. A Royal Victory set the tone for all Royal – Thomian Encounters to be held in the coming months. A dominating performance by the Royalists, ensured the 1st Royal – Thomian Squash Encounter was won by a score of 4-1.

Starting off the events for the day, the old boys encounter was comprehensively won by the Thomians by a score of 3-0

However the Royalists pegged back the Thomians by winning the B team and Under 15 categories.

B Team
Royal College 3 – 1

Under 15
Royal College  3 – 0

The much awaited under 19 encounter began with Captain Ruweesh Jayawardena calmly dispatching his opponent and winning the first round for Royal. Then Vice Captain Rashendra Rajarathna stepped up and put up an entertaining and intense performance to beat his opponent 3-1 and setting the round tally to 2-0. Udantha Hewage went on to defeat his opponent 3-1 and thus earned his place in history by putting the shield for the 1st Royal – Thomian Squash Encounter out of reach of Thomian hands. Youngster Hareen Weerasooriya recorded a win while young Senidu Induwara narrowly lost his game.

Ruweesha Jayawardena(RC Capt.) vs Nilakshan Jayasekara(STC) – 3-0

Rashendre Rajarathna(RC V.Capt.) vs Jithesh Rambukpotha(STC) – 3-1

Udantha Hewage(RC) vs Kavinda Hurulle (STC) – 3-1

Senidu Induwara(RC) vs Tharindu Jayasekara(STC) – 1-2

Hareen Weerasooriya(RC)vs Thenuka Indrakumar(STC) – 2-1

And thus Royal College emerged victors of the encounter by a scoreline of 4 – 1 and recorded the first of many victories to come against S.Thomas’ College in the coming months.

Royal College Squash team consisted of, Ruweesha Jayawardena (Capt), Rashendre Rajarathne (V. Capt), Udantha Hewage, Hareen Weerasuriya, Senidu Induwara and Buwaneka De Alwis.

The S. Thomas College Squash team consisted of, Disura Fernando (Capt.), Janik Fernando (V. Capt.), Kavinda Hurulle, Nilakshan Jayasekara, Tharindu Jayasekara, Thenuka Indrakumar, Chithesh Rambukpotha and Joseph Paul.

Full album at –